All East Africa - Latest NewsTANZANIA

Tanzania: Magufuli Picks 7 Board Chairs, DCs, DEDs

Meanwhile, President Magufuli has also appointed the Chairman of the National Economic Empowerment Council (NEEC) and one member for the National Business Council. Statement issued yesterday by the Directorate of Presidential Communications said their appointment was with effect from last Saturday.

The statement had it that Mr Ali Mufuruki, who is Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Infotech Investment and Chairman of the CEO Roundtable of Tanzania, has been appointed as new chair of the National Environment Trust Fund.

Mr Mufuruki currently serves as the Chairman of the Africa Leadership Initiative, which deals with developing leadership talent in the East African region. The two DCs appointed are Mr Kisare Makori and Evod Herman, who will lead Ubungo and Mtwara districts respectively.

Mr Makori replaces Mr Humphrey Polepole, who was recently appointed Secretary of CCM’s Ideology and Publicity Department. Mr Herman takes the position left by Dr Khatib Kazungu, who was appointed Deputy Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Finance and Planning.

The three district council directors appointed are Mr Ramadhan Mwangulumbi (Shinyanga), Mr Rojas Romuli (Mpanda) and Mr Rashid Gembe (Mkinga). In that order, they replace Mr Lewis Kalinjuna, Ngalinda Ahmada, who died recently, and Mr Mkumbo Barnabas, whose appointment has been revoked.

In the appointments’ note, Engineer Christopher Chiza becomes the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Tanzania Trade Development Authority (TanTrade). Eng Chiza takes over the post left vacant by Ms Sabetha Mwambenja, whose term of service has expired.

The Vocational Education and Training Authority (VETA) also has a new chair for its board of directors. He is Mr Peter Maduki, who replaces Prof Idrissa Mshoro, who has completed his tenure.

The list of the appointed chairpersons also includes Dr Yamungu Kayandabila, who has been picked new chairman of the Board of Directors of the Tanzania Insurance Regulatory Authority (TIRA). Dr Kayandabila takes over the position left by Mr Peter Ilomo, whose term of service has come to an end.

He also doubles as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Lands, Housing and Human Settlements Development. Others appointed as board chairs are Prof Godwin Mjema for UTT Microfinance, Captain Ernest Bupamba for Consultative Board of the Dar es Salaam Maritime Institute (DMI) and Dr Aloyce Hepelwa for the UTT Projects and Infrastructure Development Plc (UTT-PID).Currently, Prof Mjema and Dr Hepelwa are working as lecturers at the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) while Capt Bupamba is Principal Captain at the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries. In the meantime, the President Magufuli has appointed Dr John Jingu new chairman of the National Economic Empowerment Council (NEEC).

Dr Jingu is also a lecturer at the UDSM. Another lecturer at the UDSM, Dr Rashid Tamatama, has been appointed Director General of the Tanzania Fisheries Research Institute (TAFIRI).

The president also has appointed Ms Zuhura Muro as a member of the Tanzania National Business Council (TNBC).

She is the Managing Director of Kazi Services Limited. Meanwhile, the President’s Office, Public Service Management and Good Governance, has appointed 27 District Administrative Secretaries (DASs), reporting to the Permanent Secretary for the docket while carrying their curriculum vitae (CVs) and copies of academic certificates.

The appointees are Mr Timetheo Mzava (Arumeru), Mr Fabian Sospeter (Nyang’hwale), Mr Innocent Nsena (Karagwe), Mr Abdallah Mayomba (Missenyi), Mr Greyson Mwengu (Kyerwa), Ms Agness Alex (Biharamulo), Mr Mbwana Kambangwa (Liwale), Agenellus Mwakitalu (Kilwa), Ms Sarah Sanga (Hanang), Mr Paul Bura (Mbulu), Mr Yohana Kasitila (Kilosa), Mr Robert Selasela (Kilombero) and Mr Lameck Lusesa (Malinyi).

Others are Mr Palango Abdul (Nanyumbu), Mr Bosco Bugali (Misungwi), Menruf Nyoni (Magu), Mr Said Kitinga (Ilemela), Ms Grace Mgeni (Makete), Ms Zaina Mlawa (Ludewa), Milongo Sanga (Kibiti), Mr Frank Sichalwe (Kalambo), Mr Nicodemus Mwikozi (Meatu), Mr Filbert Kanyilizu (Itilima), Mr Godwin Chacha (Busega), Ms Winfrida Funto (Ikungi), Ms Elizabeth Rwegasira (Mkalama) and Mr Michael Nyahenga (Kaliua).

©Alleastadrica and Daily News

Related posts

Timeline: Eritrea president’s official trips to United Arab Emirates


Direct flights from Nyeri’s Nyaribo Airstrip to Nairobi start


Kaweesi, bodyguards tried to open doors and escape


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More