All East Africa - Latest NewsHEADLINESKENYA

List of judges who will handle poll petitions out

Chief Justice David Maraga on Friday gazetted more than 50 judges to hear and determine the more than 150 election petitions filed against governors, senators and MPs.

In the notice, Justice Maraga has allocated some judges more than four cases, while some judges from Nairobi have been deployed to other stations outside the city to deal with the huge number of petitions.

The CJ also gazetted magistrates who will hear and determined the 166 petitions challenging the election of MCAs across the country.

In Bomet, the petition filed against Governor Joyce Laboso will be heard by Justice Martin Muya. The case was filed by three Bomet voters.

The case filed against Nairobi Governor Mike Mbuvi Sonko will be heard Justice Msagha Mbogholi. The case was filed by a voter, Japheth Muroko.


Election petitions challenging governors, senators, and woman representatives in Garissa, Wajir and Mandera will be heard by judges at Milimani.

The petition challenging the election of Garissa Township MP and also the Majority Leader in the National Assembly Aden Duale, will be heard by Lady Justice Hedwig Ong’udi.

Other than Ms Laboso and Sonko, 30 other governors are facing election petitions.

They include Mr Kiraitu Murungi (Meru), in a case filed by his predecessor Peter Munya, Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru in a case filed by former Minister Martha Karua.

Others are Machakos Governor Alfred Mutua, Busia Governor Sospeter Ojaamong, Martin Wambora (Embu), Ali Korane (Garissa), Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay), Joseph ole Lenku (Kajiado), Amason Kingi (Kilifi), and Kisii’s James Ongwae.

Others include Prof Anyang’ Nyong’o ( Kisumu), Issa Timamy (Lamu), Dr Alfred Mutua (Machakos), Ali Roba (Mandera), Ali Mohamed Mohammed (Marsabit) and Zacharia Okoth Obado of Migori.


Taita Taveta Governor Granton Samboja as well Siaya Governor Cornel Rasanga, Turkana’s Josphat Nanok and Trans Nzoia’s Patrick Khaemba will also be facing election petitions in court.

Some 98 MPs are facing election petitions as well as 12 women representatives, 15 Senators and 166 MCAs.

The cases will have to be concluded with six months going by the timelines set by the Judiciary. In Nairobi, nine MPs will be battling court cases including George Theuri of Embakasi West, Lang’ata’s

Nixon Korir, Ruaraka’s Tom Joseph Kajwang, Kamukunji’s Yusuf Hassan and Starehe MP Charles Njagua Kanyi.

In Kisii county, seven MPs have court petitions.

All MPs elected in Turkana, save for Loima and Turkana Central have also to fight election petitions, while in Kakamega, 12 election petitions have been field challenging the election of ten MPs.


Other MPs facing election petitions are John Waluke, who won the Sirisia parliamentary seat on a Jubilee ticket, Babu Owino of Embakasi East, Alfred Keter of Nandi Hills, Raphael Wanjala of Budalang’i and Ms Mishi Mboko of Likoni.

All the seven law makers in Kilifi County, who won the seats on ODM party ticket, are facing election petitions.

Senators facing election petitions include Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Mr Cleophas Wakhungu (Kakamega), Prof Sam Ongeri (Kisii), Mr Mithika Linturi (Meru), Mr Stewart Mwadzayo (Kilifi), Yusuf Haji (Garissa) and Ledama ole Kina (Narok).

Justice Maraga has urged Judges and magistrates to ignore legal and procedural technicalities, and determine the electoral disputes on substantive issues. According to Mr Maraga, this was the cause that led to the erosion of public confidence in the Judiciary.

Related posts

UNHCR condemns killing of refugee child in Northern Uganda


Thousands flee DR Congo fighting to Uganda — UN


EAC projects, unity rattled yet again as Summit is called off


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More