Uganda: NRM Beefs Up Numbers On ‘Age Limit Committee’

Following demands by Igara West MP Raphael Magyezi for the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs committee to be reconstituted, the government chief whip has added six new ruling party members – probably to ensure that if it comes to a vote on the ‘age limit bill’ the ‘ayes’ will have it.

Until early this week, the committee comprised 23 members, 13 of them ruling party MPs but whose support is either doubted or are openly opposed to Magyezi’s Constitution Amendment Bill (No 2) 2017, which aims to scrap presidential age limits.

Ruth Nankabirwa’s announcement on Wednesday comes as a relief to Magyezi and most likely allays any fears that his bill would be frustrated at the committee stage.

The bill tabled on September 28 has since attracted controversy, with the masses across the country accusing the NRM of hatching a life presidency for their party chairman, Gen Yoweri Museveni.

Although she did not give reasons, Nankabirwa designated almost all the new MPs from four new districts and who recently won by-elections with the active participation of the president in their respective campaigns to the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs committee.

They include Brenda Suubi Asinde (Iganga Woman MP), Robert Kasule Ssebunya (Nansana Municipality), Rose Lilly Akello (Kaabong Woman MP), Prossy Akampurira Mbabazi (Rubanda Woman MP), Taban Amin (Kibanda North) and Caroline Kamusiime (Rukiga Woman MP).

Magyezi had earlier complained that several members of that committee, mostly from the opposition, had openly expressed bias towards his bill, which seeks to amend Article 102(b) of the Constitution to remove the 35-75 age cap for presidential candidates.

As it stands, the article would disqualify Museveni, 73, from running for re-election and extending his 31-year rule in 2021 as he will be older than the upper limit of 75 years.

Magyezi said opposition MPs and some NRM members on that committee needed to be replaced with neutral ones. The six legislators added to the committee, which is chaired by the ruling party, now brings the total number of MPs on the legal committee to 29. Nankabirwa’s calculation, may be that the new faces would be easier to be whipped into line.

The NRM lays claim to 19 members; two are from the Forum for Democratic Change; two from the Democratic Party and six Independents.

Related posts

Butaleja residents want Museveni to fulfil pledges made 15 years ago


US drones ‘wiping out’ Shabaab in Somalia: AU mission head


Embattled Kenyan Electoral commission CEO takes leave


1 comment

rezen Dec 1, 2017 at 8:52 pm

Subject: “Uganda: NRM Beefs Up Numbers On ‘Age Limit Committee’” By The Observer, Dec 1, 2017

Commentary, 1 Dec 2017
Let us not skirt around, and around, and around until we become dizzy and numb in the head.

His Excellency; The Graduate of Makerere University; The Honourable Party Chairman; and The President of Uganda; The General of the Armed Forces of Uganda; The ‘Towering’ Yoweri Museveni Will rule Uganda, ‘by hook or by crook’, for LIFE time. Uganda, in his imagination, is his territory and the people therein are his slaves.PERIOD.

Museveni is seventy something years old. Museveni ruled Uganda for thirty-one years. During all this time Museveni was NOT dormant (if you know what I mean wink, wink, wink). But it is NOT enough for Museveni. Museveni is not demanding to stay until he reached the age of 94 and beat the record of longevity but to stay for ‘eternity’, which includes his wife, his children and children’s children ……..

That is what they taught him at Makerere University in Political Science, Sociology, Anthropology, Law, Justice, Freedom of expression. If this is wrong, the space is wide open for the Honourable Educated Personalities of the University to express a few words of gentle but critical comments on Musevenis’ ruling over the Ugandan people. The field is wide open for conscious and caring Elders. THE END

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More